Allmandring 31

Welcome to

Institute of Microbiology

Research fields of the institute

A major and common field of research interests comprises of Metabolic pathways of microorganisms (Escherichia coli, Corynebacterium glutamicum) leading to valuable low molecular weight compounds, e.g. aromatic amino acids such as L-phenylalanine or L-tryptophan and other derivatives of the Shikimic acid pathway, sugars and oligosaccharides) and of asymmetric building blocks for organic syntheses which otherwise are difficult to obtain. As well, we investigate polymerization and depolymerization of biopolymers (polyhydroxybutyrate PHB, polyphosphate, natural rubber) and the role of granula (consisting of PHB or polyphosphates) in the cell biology of bacteria.

C-C bonding enzymes such as aldolases/transaldolases and thiamine diphosphate-dependent lyase as transketolase or MenD are in use to deliver interesting novel compounds for organic syntheses. Besides in vitro approaches, we also use whole cell biotransformations. .

Research on structure-function relationships is a common researcg interest of the enzymes we use. Among others, we look into various dioxygenases, microbial nitrilases and nitrile hydratases for the stereoselective synthesis of valuable compounds.

Our arsenal of research methods comprises of cloning, overexpression and targeted mutagenesis of microbial genes. Next, we purify and characterize the recombinant enzymes; furthermore, metabolite analytics is performed by chromatography methods such as GC, TLC, FPLC, and HPLC.

You may contact us

 

Sekretariat

Allmandring 31, D-70569 Stuttgart

To the top of the page

Allmandring 31

Willkommen am

Institut für Mikrobiologie

Aufgaben des Instituts in der Forschung

 

Ein Schwerpunkt der Forschungsinteressen des Instituts liegt auf den Stoffwechselleistungen von Mikroorganismen zur Gewinnung von niedermolekularen Wertstoffen (aromatische Aminosäuren und weitere Derivate aus dem Shikimisäureweg, Vitamine, Zucker und Oligosaccharide) und von asymmetrischen Bausteinen für organische Synthesen, die durch chemische Synthesen schwer zugänglich sind. Wir untersuchen zudem den Auf- und Abbau von Biopolymeren (Polyhydroxybuttersäure, Polyphosphat, Kautschuk) und die Rolle von Granula (aus Polyhydroxybuttersäure bzw. Polyphosphaten) in der Zellbiologie von Bakterien.

Enzyme, die C-C-Bindungen knüpfen und spalten (Aldolasen/Transaldolasen, thiaminabhängige Lyasen wie Transketolase oder MenD) werden verwendet um interessante neue Verbindungen herzustellen. Neben in vitro-Untersuchungen werden auch diese Enzyme für Biotransformationen mit ganzen Zellen eingesetzt.

Die Untersuchung von Struktur-Funktionsbeziehungen ist ein gemeinsames Interesse aller untersuchten Enzyme (dazu gehören auch verschiedene Dioxygenasen, mikrobielle Nitrilasen und Nitrilhydratasen), die zur stereoselektiven Synthese von Wertstoffen Verwendung finden können.

Kontakt

 

Sekretariat

Allmandring 31, D-70569 Stuttgart

Zum Seitenanfang